Harry Hess: Lead Vocals
Pete Lesperance: Guitars
Creighton Doane: Drums
Darren smith: Backup Vocals
Stan Miczek: Bass


Harem Scarem was formed in 1987 by guitarist Pete Lesperance and singer Harry Hess, formerly of Blind Vengeance who had recorded two heavy metal albums in the ’80s.

In 1991, Harem Scarem released their self-titled debut album, which charted at No. 68 on the Canadian album chart. The band scored a hit single from the album; “Slowly Slipping Away“, which charted at No. 25 on the Canadian single chart. They also managed to chart two minor hits; “Honestly” and “Love Reaction”. The following year, Harem Scarem was able to gain some notoriety when 8 songs from their debut album Harem Scarem were predominantly featured in the Canadian teen series Degrassi Junior High, and Degrassi High‘s farewell TV movie, School’s Out.

Harem Scarem released their second album in 1993, Mood Swings, which had a harder sound to it than their previous album. It also featured the recorded vocal debut of drummer Smith on the song “Sentimental Blvd”. A fan favorite, Mood Swings charted at No. 83 on the Canadian charts. The album’s lead off single was “No Justice”, which managed to chart at No. 59 in Canada, while the other two singles failed to chart. Mood Swings caused the band to gain popularity in Japan, and the band’s previous album was quickly issued in that country the following year. This was followed by a live and acoustic EP, appropriately titled Live & Acoustic.

2002’s Weight of the World (released as a Rubber album in some markets) harkened back to the earlier sound of Mood Swings. It was followed in 2003 by Higher. The album’s sound was more of a combination of classic melodic rock with a modern production. The album also featured the power ballad “Higher”. The year 2003 also saw the release of Harry Hess’ debut solo album Just Another Day which was well received by fans. In 2004, Pete Lesperance released his debut solo album Down In It (re-recorded with Mike Turner and released under the band name Fair Ground in 2006).

Continuing their prolific output of studio albums, 2005’s Overload was followed by Human Nature in 2007. The Japanese version of Overload features a cover of the AC/DC classic, “You Shook Me All Night Long“.

On June 21, 2010, Frontiers Records announced a new studio project called First Signal featuring ex-Harem Scarem members Harry Hess and Darren Smith. The album was released on August 27, 2010.[4]

Much of the Harem Scarem back catalogue was reissued in September 2010, featuring bonus tracks. Included in the reissue program are albums formerly only available in Japan, such as B-Side Collection, Rocks, and Ballads.

In December 2012, it was announced that a reunited Harem Scarem would headline the 10th Firefest festival in Nottingham, UK in October 2013. In 2014, Darren Smith emerged as the lead vocalist for former Ozzy Osbourne guitarist Jake E. Lee’s new band, Red Dragon Cartel.

In February 2017 it was announced that Harem Scarem would appear at Rockingham Festival 2017, this to be held at Nottingham Trent University, UK, between 20 and 22 October 2017, the band scheduled to appear on Saturday 21st.[6]

In March 2017 it was disclosed that to mark their 30th year Harem Scarem’s 14th studio album, United, would be released by Frontiers Records on May 12. The 11-track album features Harry Hess (lead vocals, keyboards), Pete Lesperance (guitars, bass, keyboards), long-time drummer Creighton Doane, and backing vocals from original drummer Darren Smith (who will be playing live drums for the band on tour dates).


Official website: www.haremscarem.net

Label: Frontiers Music